top of page



CA: Court of Appeal;

ChD: Chancery Division of the High Court.

CJEU: Court of Justice of the European Union, formerly, to 1st December 2009, "ECJ" and, briefly, "CJEC" Court of Justice of the European Communities - see Treaty of Lisbon.

Comm Ct: Commercial Court.

CSIH: Court of Session Inner House in Scotland.

CSOH: Court of Session Outer House in Scotland.

EAT: Employment Appeal Tribunal.

ECHR: European Court of Human Rights.

ECJ: European Court of Justice now CJEU.

EFTA Court: the European Free Trade Association Court.

ET: Employment Tribunal formerly, to 1st August 1998, Industrial Tribunal.

HL: House of Lords now superseded by SC.

PC: Privy Council.

QBD: Queen's Bench Division of the High Court.

SC: Supreme Court.

TCC: Technology and Construction Court.

bottom of page